

2009 Albert Sauveur Achievement Award

Dr. Sungho Jin, FASM, Distinguished Professor in the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, and the Center for Magnetic Recording Research, at the University of California, San Diego, will receive this year's **Albert Sauveur Achievement Award** for "pioneering research for discovery of new materials and phenomena in the fields of electronic, magnetic, and superconducting materials." The American Society of Metals established this award in 1934. It recognizes



pioneering materials science and engineering achievements that have stimulated organized work along similar lines to such an extent that a marked basic advance has been made in the knowledge of materials.

Professor Jin joined the UCSD faculty in July 2002 after a long and illustrious career at Bell Labs/Lucent Technologies. He is the first holder of the Kazuo Iwama Endowed Chair for Materials Science, endowed by Sony. Jin was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 1999, and most recently was a technical manager in Bell Labs' Applied Materials and Metallurgy Group. He earned his Ph.D. in materials science and engineering in 1974 from UC Berkeley, and then worked at Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory before joining Bell Labs in 1976. Jin has authored more than 220 technical publications which have been widely read (5000+ citations). In 1989, Business Week magazine selected him as one of the Top Ten Innovative Scientists in the country. In 2005 Professor Jin was named by Nanotech Briefs as one of the winners of the <u>Nano 50</u> <u>Awards</u>. In 2007 Professor Jin received the John Bardeen Award from the Minerals, Metals & Materials Society. In 2008 he was selected as Fellow of the MRS (Materials Research Society) for pioneering research on magnetic, superconducting, environmental, nano and bio materials, and for significant publications, patents and industrial applications.

This award will be presented at the society's annual Awards Banquet on Tuesday, October 27, 2009 in Pittsburgh during Materials Science + Technology 2009 (MS+T '09).