UC San Diego

Center for Memory and Recording Research
Formerly known as Center for Magnetic Recording Research

Search Menu

History of CMRR

The Center for Memory and Recording Research (CMRR) was founded in 1983 by a consortium of U.S. companies in the magnetic recording industry. The Center's mission is to advance the state-of-the-art in magnetic storage, and to produce highly trained graduate students and postdoctoral professionals. CMRR also serves as a catalyst for joint investigations amongst its industrial sponsors, government agencies, and the university. The Center is housed in a 26,700 square foot building on the campus of the University of California, San Diego. The modular, three-story research facility includes laboratories, academic and administrative offices and support areas. It includes a 100-seat lecture hall, a conference room and a library.

Key personnel include seven faculty from the Departments of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Nanoengineering, and Physics. Additional researchers and affiliated faculty members from UCSD and other academic institutions play an active role in Center programs. There are more than twenty-five graduate and undergraduate students in residence, a number of postdoctoral researchers, several senior research associates, a technician, a librarian, and a small administrative and clerical staff. The industrial Sponsors provide advice and direction through an Advisory Council, which meets twice yearly at the Research Reviews. The faculty has developed their diverse research groups and has obtained funding from federal, state, and industrial sponsors. CMRR is an active member of the Information Storage Industry Consortium (INSIC) and had been the recipient of several INSIC sub-contracts.

The Center celebrated its 25th anniversary in October 2008.

The CMRR program is a collaborative approach by an interdisciplinary group of researchers to develop significant advances in ultra-high density storage and ultra-high data rates, particularly for disk and tape recording systems. Current broad research areas include:


Prof. Eric Fullerton - Magnetic Films and Nanostructures

Prof. Vitaliy Lomakin - Patterned Media

Prof. Paul H. Siegel - Coding and Modulation

Prof. Frank Talke - Tribology and Mechanics


Dr. Fred Spada - Magnetic Media and Nanoscale Metrology

Research Affiliates

Prof. Prabhakar R. Bandaru - Nano-materials for magnetic, semiconductor, optical, and MEMS/NEMS devices

Prof. Raymond de Callafon - Dynamic Modeling and Servo Technology

Assoc. Prof. Renkun Chen - Materials and devices for thermal energy conversion, storage and management

Dr. Shane Cybart - Electric Field Controlled Magnetism Using Multiferroic and Magnetic Oxides

Prof. Massimiliano Di Ventra - Electronic and Transport Properties of Nanoscale Systems

Prof. Kai Liu - Nanostructured materials for nanomagnetism, spin-transport, and advanced energy explorations

Assoc Prof. Ping Liu - Electrochemical Energy Conversion and Storage Applications

Assoc. Prof. Zhaowei Liu - Nanoscale Photonics, Nanostructured Materials, and Plasmonics

Adjt. Prof. Vlado A. Lubarda - Mechanics of Solids and Materials

Asst. Prof. Shirley Meng - Energy Storage and Conversion Materials

Prof. Lu Jeu Sham - Condensed Matter Theory

Asst. Prof. Oleg Shpyrko - Nanoscale Dynamics and Structure of Materials

Prof. Steven Swanson - Non-Volatile, Solid-State Memory

Prof. Dimitri Basov - Infrared Spectroscopy of Novel Electronic and Magnetic Materials

Prof. Shaya Fainman - Applied optics and photonics

Prof. Sunil Sinha - Condensed Matter Physics by X-ray and Neturon Scattering

Prof. Alexander Vardy - Coding for storage systems, including disk drives and flash memories

Assoc Prof. Oscar Vazquez Mena - Atomic Two-Dimensional Materials, Nanomaterials for Solar Energy Harvesting, Nanobiosensing and Micromedical Devices

Dr. Eitan Yaakobi - – Information and Coding Theory With Applications to Non-Volatile Memories, Associative Memories, Data Storage and Retrieval, and Voting Theory

Former CMRR Research Members

Prof. Ami Berkowitz - Magnetic Materials & Devices

Prof. H. Neal Bertram - Recording Physics and Micromagnetics

Dr. Gordon Hughes - Storage Systems

Prof. Sungho Jin - Magnetic Materials Design and Fabrication

Prof. Sheldon Schultz

Prof. Jack Keil Wolf - Signal Processing