UC San Diego

Center for Memory and Recording Research
Formerly known as Center for Magnetic Recording Research

Search Menu

CMRR Professor Frank Talke Receives the 2010 Tribology Gold Medal

December 2010

Frank E. Talke, an Endowed Chaired Professor at CMRR has been selected to receive the 2010 Tribology Gold Medal. This award is “in recognition of his outstanding achievements in Tribology, in particular, for his meritorious work in the field of magnetic storage systems, ink jet technology, and interferometric instrumentation”.
This prestigious award, administered by the United Kingdom Institution of Mechanical Engineers and the Tribology Trust, is internationally recognized as the highest honor in tribology research and its application. Tribology, the study of friction, wear and lubrication, covers many key sciences including physics, chemistry, and engineering - vital for improving the reliability of hard disk drives for information storage or the safety of automobiles. The Tribology Gold Medal was established in 1972, and has been awarded to 38 individuals from 12 different countries. The award in the past has been presented by British ambassadors in the case of non-UK recipients and by a Secretary of State in the case of a UK resident medalist.
This award is just the latest of many honors Frank has received. In 2010 he received the Mayo D. Hersey Award from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME). This award, as described on the ASME website was “established in 1965, and is given in recognition of distinguished and continued contribution over a substantial period of time to the advancement of lubrication science and engineering. Distinguished contributions may result from significant original research in one or more of the many scientific disciplines related to lubrication.” Professor Talke was cited “for distinguished and continued fundamental contributions in research on the tribological and mechanical limits of magnetic recording storage technology”.
In 2009 he was inducted into the Academy der Technikwissenschaften (Acatech). In 2008 he was awarded the ASME Society Medal “for lifetime contributions to the understanding of the tribology and mechanics of magnetic recording disk and tape drives…and for bridging academic and industrial research”. In 2007 he received the Humboldt Research Award from the Alexander van Humboldt Foundation. He was also the co-recipient of the First Seagate/ASME Tribology Award in 2003, and received the Max Planck Research Award for International Cooperation in 1999. Professor Talke has received an honorary doctorate degree from the Technical University of Munich, Germany, and is a Fellow of the ASME, the IEEE, and the STLE. In 1999, he was inducted into the National Academy of Engineering.

CMRR and the MAE Department of UCSD congratulate Frank for this wonderful award, the prestigious Tribology Gold Medal.