UC San Diego

Center for Memory and Recording Research
Formerly known as Center for Magnetic Recording Research

Search Menu

CMRR Professor Frank Talke Receives the ASME Mayo D. Hersey Award

May 10, 2010

Frank E. Talke, an Endowed Chaired Professor at CMRR has been selected to receive the 2010 Mayo D. Hersey Award from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME). This award, as described on the ASME website was “established in 1965, and is given in recognition of distinguished and continued contribution over a substantial period of time to the advancement of lubrication science and engineering. Distinguished contributions may result from significant original research in one or more of the many scientific disciplines related to lubrication.” Professor Talke was cited “for distinguished and continued fundamental contributions in research on the tribological and mechanical limits of magnetic recording storage technology.”
This award is just the latest of many honors Frank has received. In 2009 he was inducted into the Academy der Technikwissenschaften (Acatech). In 2008 he was awarded the ASME Society Medal “for lifetime contributions to the understanding of the tribology and mechanics of magnetic recording disk and tape drives…and for bridging academic and industrial research.” In 2007 he received the Humboldt Research Award from the Alexander van Humboldt Foundation. He has also been named Fellow to the ASME, the IEEE, and the STLE. In 1999 he was inducted into the National Academy of Engineering.