UC San Diego

Center for Memory and Recording Research
Formerly known as Center for Magnetic Recording Research

Search Menu
  • Center for Memory and Recording Research

  • CMRR Spring Research Review, May 12-13, 2016

  • Non-Volatile Memories Workshop 2016

  • CMRR Fall 2015 Newsletter: Issue #44

  • Roopali Kukreja Receives Melvin P. Klein Scientific Development Award

  • LIA Kickoff Meeting!

  • Youyi Fu: Poster Winner of Fall 2015 Research Review

  • Mario Blaum, Seminar, Nov 20, 2015, 2PM

  • Shannon Memorial Lecture - December 1, 2015

  • Kazuhiro Hono, Seminar – January 11, 2015, 11AM

Welcome to CMRR - Exploring tomorrow's information storage systems today

CMRR was established at UC San Diego in 1983 to advance the state-of-the-art in information storage technology and to produce highly trained graduate students and postdoctoral professionals for the data storage industry. Pursuing a dynamic, interdisciplinary program of cutting-edge research defined in cooperation with government agencies and industry partners, the Center's faculty, researchers, and students continue to push the frontiers of scientific knowledge and engineering technology to meet society's ever-increasing need for high-performance, reliable, and secure information storage systems.

Faculty, Researchers and Affiliates



Research Affiliates

Prof. Prabhakar R. Bandaru - Nano-materials for magnetic, semiconductor, optical, and MEMS/NEMS devices

Prof. Raymond de Callafon - Dynamic Modeling and Servo Technology

Asst. Prof. Renkun Chen - Materials and devices for thermal energy conversion, storage and management

Prof. Massimiliano Di Ventra - Electronic and Transport Properties of Nanoscale Systems

Ping Liu

Assoc. Prof. Zhaowei Liu - Nanoscale Photonics, Nanostructured Materials, and Plasmonics

Assoc. Prof. Vitaliy Lomakin - Patterned Media

Adjt. Prof. Vlado A. Lubarda - Mechanics of Solids and Materials

Asst. Prof. Shirley Meng - Energy Storage and Conversion Materials

Prof. Lu Jeu Sham - Condensed Matter Theory

Asst. Prof. Oleg Shpyrko - Nanoscale Dynamics and Structure of Materials

Assoc. Prof. Steven Swanson - Non-Volatile, Solid-State Memory

Prof. Dimitri Basov - Infrared Spectroscopy of Novel Electronic and Magnetic Materials

Prof. Shaya Fainman - Applied optics and photonics

Prof. Sunil Sinha - Condensed Matter Physics by X-ray and Neturon Scattering

Prof. Alexander Vardy - Coding for storage systems, including disk drives and flash memories

Oscar Vasquez

Eitan Yaakobi

Former CMRR Research Members



Research Highlights