Schultz Prize

The Sheldon Schultz Prize for Excellence in Graduate Student Research was first presented in May 2003 at the 20th anniversary of the founding of the Center for Memory and Recording Research. The Prize is named in honor of former CMRR Director, Sheldon Schultz, who skillfully guided the Center from November 1990 through August 2000.

The Schultz Prize is intended to recognize CMRR graduate students who have distinguished themselves through the creativity of their research and the impact of their publications. The selection of the recipient is based upon the recommendation of a committee consisting of CMRR faculty members, with input from selected experts in information storage technology. The award is presented each year at the Spring CMRR Research Review.


Yi Liu - 2020
Alex Phan and Pengfei Huang - March 2018
Young W. Seo, Veeresh Taranalli - May 2017
Sidi Fu, Youyi Fu - June 2016
Phi Khanh Nguyen, Liane Matthes- April 2015
Minghai Qin, Ruinan Chang- May 2014
Jimmy Kan - May 2013
Shaojing Li, Aravind Iyengar - May 2012
Eitan Yaakobi, Uwe Boettcher - May 2011
Edward Choi, Seyhan Karakulak - May 2010
Zheng Wu - May 2009
Ralf Brunner, Junsheng Han - April 2008
Maik Duwensee, Bart Raeymaekers - May 2007
Sharon Aviran, Ismail Demirkan - May 2006
Joseph B. Soriaga - May 2005
Brian Kurkoski, Marcus Marrow - June 2004
Geoffrey Beach, Kai-Zhong Gao - May 2003

If you are interested in making a donation to the Schultz Prize, please make checks payable to "UC San Diego Foundation" with a notation on the check or a brief cover letter designating the contribution for the Schultz Prize. You can also submit an online donation. Under "Select A School", click on Jacobs School of Engineering and under "Fund" select "Schultz Prize." Your donation is 100% tax-deductible and an official acknowledgement of your contribution will be provided to you.

All correspondence pertaining to the Prize can be directed to:

Prof. Paul H. Siegel, Director
CMRR, 0401
UC San Diego
9500 Gilman Drive
La Jolla , CA 92093-0401