Shirley Meng


  • Lithium-ion Batteries, Sodium-ion Batteries, Flow Batteries, Solid State Batteries, Zinc-Air Fuel Cells, and Magnesium-ion Batteries
  • Magnetic Materials
  • Sensitized Solar Cells

Dr. Y. Shirley Meng received her Ph.D. in Advance Materials for Micro & Nano Systems from the Singapore-MIT Alliance in 2005, after which she worked as a postdoc research fellow and became a research scientist at MIT. Shirley currently holds the Zable Chair Professor in Energy Technologies and professor in NanoEngineering at the University of California San Diego (UCSD). Dr. Meng is the principal investigator of the research group - Laboratory for Energy Storage and Conversion (LESC). The LESC research focuses on the direct integration of experimental techniques with first principles computation modeling for developing new materials and architectures for electrochemical energy storage. She is the founding Director of Sustainable Power and Energy Center (SPEC), consisting of faculty members from interdisciplinary fields, who all focus on making breakthroughs in distributed energy generation, storage and the accompanying integration-management systems. Shirley received several prestigious awards, including International Battery Association Research Award(2019), Blavatnik National Awards Finalist(2018), American Chemical Society ACS Applied Materials & Interfaces Young Investigator Award (2018), International Coalition for Energy Storage and Innovation (ICESI) Inaugural Young Career Award (2018), IUMRS-Singapore Young Scientist Research Award (2017), C.W. Tobias Young Investigator Award of the Electrochemical Society (2016), BASF Volkswagen Electrochemistry Science Award (2015) and NSF CAREER Award (2011). Dr. Meng is the author and co-author of more than 190 peer-reviewed journal articles, two book chapters and eight patents. She is the elected Fellow of the Electrochemical Society.

Please visit the website or click here to view publications.

Postdoctoral Researcher

Minghao Zhang

Visiting Graudate Student

Akihiro Orita

Graudate Student(s)

Name: Thomas Wynn

Name: Haelie Chung
hyc022 at

Name: Ryosuke Shimizu
ryshimiz at